BUSINESS LICENSE APPLICATION

To manage your taxes and pay on-line go to tax.pwcgov.org.

2022

RENEWAL APPLICATION AND PAYMENT IN FULL IS DUE ON OR BEFORE MARCH 1, 2022. NEW BUSINESSES BEGINNING ON OR AFTER JANUARY 1, 2022, HAVE 30 DAYS TO MAKE APPLICATION AND REMIT PAYMENT.

Company/Owner Name	ADDITIONAL INFORMATION REQUIRED FOR CONSTRUCTION,		
Business Trade Name	REMOVAL, REPAIR, OR IMPROVEMENT CONTRACTORS		
All new license applicants must provide proof of trade/fictitious name registration with the Virginia State Corporation Commission.	To be issued a license for a contractor/home improvement business, you must provide the license number and a copy of a valid Virginia Class A, B, or C Contractors License issued in your business name by the Board for Contractors.		
Federal ID / SSN			
☐ Sole Proprietor – Business Owner is Legally Present in the United States			
☐ Partnership – All Partners are Legally Present in the United States	Virginia Contractors License No		
The applicant, in submitting this business license application on behalf of a sole proprietor or partnership as business owner, hereby certifies that the sole			
proprietor or each and every partner is lawfully authorized to be present and to work in the United States pursuant to all applicable federal laws and regulations for the full duration of the license period covered by this application. For General or Limited Partnerships, you must provide proof that your business entity is registered with the Virginia State Corporation Commission.	All Contractors must complete a <i>Contractor's Certificate of Workers' Compensation Insurance</i> . Code of Virginia 58.1-3714 prohibits a county from issuing or reissuing a business license to a contractor who has not obtained or is not maintaining workers' compensation coverage for his employees if such coverage is required.		
☐ Corporation ☐ LLC or PLLC			
Provide business entity registration with Virginia State Corporation Commission.	Complete the following only if applicant is a Virginia-based Contractor with a principal office located in a jurisdiction other than Prince		
Tax Contact Name	William County:		
E-mail Address	Name of Virginia jurisdiction where		
Mailing Address	principal office is located		
Phone Number	 Does locality impose a local business license tax? If Yes, please provide a copy with the application. 		
Date Business Began in Prince William County	A copy of the Home Jurisdiction current year Business License		
Business Location			
All new license applicants must provide either a copy of your Certificate of Occupancy, Home Occupation Certificate, or Home Employment Certificate	OFFICE USE Acct. No.		
Detailed Description of Business			
NAICS Code Number of Employees	Code		
	Date Filed		
CALCULATE LICE!			
Gross receipts means whole, entire, total gross receipts, v			
1. Enter tax rate for business classification from reverse side Table C, Pa	IT A		
Enter total 2021 business gross receipts, or if a new business (busines 2022), an estimate of your 2022 gross receipts. Wholesale merchants than gross receipts	report total gross purchases rather		
Enter allowable adjustments from reverse side Table A, Line 4			
4. Subtract Line 3 from Line 2. This is your taxable gross receipts			
5. Enter \$0 if the amount on Line 4 above is less than \$500,000			
Divide Line 4 by \$100, and then multiply by the tax rate entered on Lir	ne 1		
6. If business began after 1/1/2021 but before 1/1/2022, complete reverse adjustment amount to the 2021 license tax for new businesses from re			
7. Enter flat rate license tax from reverse side Table C, Part B. NOTE: Re-include the appropriate Flat Rate License Tax in addition to the license			
8. Add the amounts on Line 5, Line 6 and Line 7 above. This is your 2022	2 license tax due Tax		
Make check payable to: PRINCE WILLIAM COUNTY, PO BOX 2467, Add a 10% late payment penalty and daily interest calculated at a rate of 10% per annu existing businesses or MORE THAN 30 DAYS PAST THE START DATE for new businesses.	m if paying after MARCH 1, 2022, for Interest		

It is a misdemeanor for any person to willfully subscribe an application that he does not believe to be true and correct as to every material matter. Businesses are subject to audit by Prince William County pursuant to Virginia Code 58.1-3109. I declare that the statements and figures herein given are true, full and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

TABLE A – ALLOWABLE ADJUSTMENTS

To Be Completed Only By Gasoline/Diesel Fuel Supplier/Wholesalers, Restaurants That Sell Mixed Drinks, and Contractors

Any business claiming an exclusion must attach the supporting documentation required. Failure to provide required documentation may result in the denial of the exclusion. Expenses are not an allowable exclusion for most businesses. See "Requirements" sheet for accepted documentation.

1.	Gasoline/Diesel Fuel Supplier/Wholesalers enter 2021 State/Federal excise fuel tax collected on Motor Vehicle Fuels		
2.	Restaurants that sell mixed drinks enter 2021 mixed beverage sales (excluding beer and wine sales)		
3.	Contractors located in Prince William County may subtract 2021 gross receipts that exceed \$25,000 from work done in other Virginia jurisdictions that impose a similar business license tax, but only if the amount subtracted is reported to the other Virginia jurisdictions. YOU MUST PROVIDE A COPY OF YOUR COMPLETED BUSINESS LICENSE APPLICATION FROM THESE JURISDICTIONS OR THE ADJUSTMENT WILL BE DISALLOWED (Virginia Code 58.1-3715)		
4.	Add Lines 1 through 3. This is your total allowable adjustments. Enter here and on reverse side, Line 3		
TABLE B – ADJUSTMENT TO 2021 LICENSE TAX Complete Only If Business Began After 1/1/2021 and Before 1/1/2022			
1.	Enter tax rate for business classification from Table C, Part A		
2.	Enter your 2021 taxable gross receipts amount from reverse side Line 4		
3.	Enter \$0 if the amount on Line 2 above is less than \$500,000. - otherwise - Divide Line 2 by \$100, and then multiply by the tax rate entered on Line 1		
4.	Enter the license tax paid when your 2021 Business License was issued		
5.	Subtract Line 4 from Line 3. If the result is less than \$0, enter the negative amount. This is the		
	adjustment amount to the 2021 license tax. Enter here and on reverse side, Line 6		
	TABLE C – TAX RATE SCHEDULE		

	Tax Rate per \$100
Business Classification	Taxable Gross Receipts
Professional occupations (PR)	\$ 0.33
Retail merchants (RT)	\$ 0.17
Wholesale merchants (WS)	\$ 0.05
Prince William County-based contractors, builders & developers or out-of-state contractors, builders	
or developers (CO)	\$ 0.13
Contractors located in another Virginia jurisdiction which imposes a BPOL or similar tax (RC)	\$ 0.13
Financial service providers; including credit agencies, and investment, securities, or commodities dealers (FI)	\$ 0.33
Real estate service providers; including appraiser, broker, management or rental agent (RE)	\$ 0.33
Hotel, motel or lodging establishments (HO)	\$ 0.26
Direct sellers (DS)	\$ 0.17
Public Utility (PU)	\$ 0.29
Repair, personal or business services; or other services not elsewhere classified (OS)	\$ 0.21
PART B: TAX RATE SCHEDULE FOR FLAT RATE LICENSES	

Business Classification	Flat Rate Amount
Restaurants serving mixed drinks with a seating capacity of no more than 100 persons (A1)	\$ 200.00
Restaurants serving mixed drinks with a seating capacity of at least 101 but no more than 150 persons (A2)	\$ 350.00
Restaurants serving mixed drinks with a seating capacity of 151 persons or greater (A3)	\$ 500.00
Non-profit or private clubs serving mixed drinks (A4)	\$ 500.00
Peddlers and other persons selling perishable goods place to place or at a temporary location (PE)	\$ 500.00
Itinerant merchant or itinerant event sponsor (IT)	\$ 500.00