## Kids Should Be in Booster Seats Until the Seat Belt Fits

usually until they are between 8 to 10 years old.

Virginia law requires children to be in a booster seat until they reach a minimum of 8 years old.

If your vehicle has a low back seat and your child's ears are above it, you need a high back booster seat to protect her head.

A booster seat makes the lap and shoulder belt fit correctly: fitting on the collar bone and hip bones.

Booster seats *must* be used with a seat belt that has a lap and shoulder belt, not just a lap belt. Kids this size are too small to fit correctly in an adult seat belt alone.

> Violators of this Virginia child restraint law shall be subject to a civil penalty of \$50, subsequent violations shall be subject to a civil penalty of up to \$500.

# **Booster Seats** Are For Big Kids.

Did you know most kids need to ride in a booster seat from about age 4 until the age of 8?

If your child isn't using a booster seat, try this simple test the next time you ride in a car together.

## The 5-Step Test

- 1. Does the child sit all the way back against the vehicle seat?
- 2. Do the child's knees bend comfortably at the edge of the vehicle seat?
- **3.** Does the seat belt cross the shoulder between the neck and arm?
- 4. Is the lap belt as low as possible, touching the thighs?

**5.** Can the child stay seated like this for the whole trip? If you answered "no" to any of these questions, your child needs a booster seat to ride safely in the car. Kids like boosters because they are more comfortable, too!

#### Prince William County Sheriff's Office

9311 Lee Avenue Manassas , VA. 20110 Phone (703) 792-6070 Fax (703) 792-7485

### www.pwcgov.org/sheriff









Here's how to keep your kids safe in the car!