

Meeting Minutes 6:30 P.M.

May 25, 2023

SUSTAINABILITY COMMISSION

Chinaka A. Barbour Warren Beeton Tiziana Bottino Dr Joseph P Boutte Christopher Carroll J. Randall Freed, Chair Martin Jeter Elizabeth H. Ward, Vice Chair

UTILITIES REPRESENTATIVE

Christine Hoeffner Gilbert Jaramillo Scott McGeary Perrin Palistrant Don Pannell **Brendon Shaw**

Cedar Run Conference Room McCoart Building 1 County Complex Court Prince William, VA 22192

Present: Commissioners Chinaka Barbour, Warren Beeton, Tiziana Bottino, Dr. Joseph Boutte, Christopher Carroll, J. Randall Freed, Martin Jeter, Elizabeth H. Ward

Non-voting Commissioners – Christine Hoeffner, Gilbert Jaramillo, Perrin Palistrant, Don Pannell

Giulia Manno – Director Office of Sustainability, Salita Gray – Sustainability Commission Clerk

AECOM Staff- Emily Dhingra, Tauhirah Abdul-Matin, Vanessa Gogh

Absent: Scott McGeary, Brendon Shaw

Roll Call: Quorum Present

• New Neabsco Commissioner Tiziana Bottino was introduced.

Citizen's Time: Charlie Grymes and Darina Bailey had no comments.

Old Business

 Approved Minutes of April 27, 2023 meeting with change to Commissioners Time. R Freed requested revision to add Department of Energy/Energy Information Administration. [VOTING RECORD: Motion R Freed; Second E Ward; Ayes-by acclamation; Nays- None]

New Business

- C Barbour provided an update on the Joint Environmental Taskforce meeting where the school compost program and the CESMP were discussed and presented. Informed that C Grymes brought up getting more vehicles off the road and safe walkable paths for students to school.
- Results of the external workgroup workshop and public townhall were presented by AECOM.
- AECOM shared the ASAP tool action evaluation results.
- AECOM led discussion to determine commission's CESMP draft actions priorities. Each of the special committees (Buildings and Decarbonization, Transportation and Land Use, Climate Adaptation and Resiliency) shared their action prioritization.
- Workgroup feedback was consolidated into a summary and shared, showing the commission's highest priority actions. G Manno requested list be sent to her.

Commissioner's Time

None

The Meeting Adjourned at 9:30 PM