

PRESS RELEASE

For Immediate Release April 4, 2025

Contact: Kim Y. Hylander Senior Communications Analyst

Office/Cell: 571-722-8689 Email: khylander@pwcgov.org

First Responders Honored During Medal Day Ceremony

On Saturday, March 29th, the Prince William County Fire and Rescue System held its 9th annual Medal Day Ceremony at Grace Life Church in Bristow, Virginia. This ceremony provides the department with the opportunity to celebrate the exemplary performance of our Fire and Rescue System members during incidents that occurred in the 2024 calendar year.

The fire and rescue members, recognized, exemplify the daily commitment to exceptional service to the citizens we serve. The awards demonstrate the level of skill and valor with which we respond to each and every emergency call and how we continuously improve our service to the community and its residents. The award recipients have distinguished themselves in the performance of their duties. Those honored received awards presented by Chief Thomas LaBelle for Unit Citation, Lifesaving, Meritorious Service, Bronze Valor, Gold Valor, Officer the Year, Technician of the Year, and Chief's Commendation.

Congratulations to the following recipients:

UNIT CITATION

Lieutenant Matthew McClurg
Lieutenant Stephanie Butler
Captain Samuel Kaye
Technician II Michael Shatzer
Technician II Brandon Simon
Technician II Diana O'Donnell
Lieutenant Dylan Moore
Technician I Samuel Ruwe
Technician I Andres Paz-Juarez
Battalion Chief Carl "Leif" Ericson
Captain Theodore Forbes

Technician I Joshua Hohl
Technician II Michael Olsen
Technician I Jeremy Bane
Technician II John Cramsey
Technician II Davin Hoffman
Technician I Thomas Frasure
Technician II Austin Davis
Technician II Tyler Barnikel
Technician II Ronald Pace
Technician II Michael Militello
Lieutenant Joseph Kelly

Technician I David Howard
Technician I Geoffrey Prall
Lieutenant James Lind
Technician II Joseph Mirabile
Technician I Adam Sims
Technician I Edward Allen
Technician II Cameron Malone
Technician I Stephen Mickle
Technician I Matthew Kemery
Lieutenant Sean Jones
Lieutenant Justin LeFever

-more-

UNIT CITATION (cont'd)

Lieutenant Lucas Hart Dan Pappas (FMO Stafford County) Technician II Carl Nunziata Technician I Nathaniel Scanlon Technician II Joseph Gallagher Technician II Dustin Kim Lieutenant Matthew Pullen Technician II Kenneth Guiles Lieutenant Christopher Clark Christiopher Longman (DCVFD) Technician II Charles Pistole Technician II Brian Anderson Lieutenant Allen Lagrave David Edwards (DCVFD) Technician II Robert McBurney Lieutenant Dylan Moore Battalion Chief Carl "Chip" Morrison

Lieutenant Christopher Gant Lieutenant Mark Waldrop Technician I Andy Gomez Technician I Brandon D'Sa Technician I Robert Fry Technician II Michael Shannon Technician I Jason Scott Technician II John Gillon Technician I Conner Plocharczyk Samuel Heuer (DCVFD) Hayden Brimhall(DCVFD) Lieutenant Joshua Dempsey Technician II Francis Nurthen IV Technician I David Howard Dorsey Woodson (DCVFD) Technician II Shaun Polite Technician II Austin Davis

Lieutenant Dustin Schultz Technician II Andrew Silvernale Technician II Beth Kenavan **Lieutenant Gregory Thomas** Lieutenant Scott Coloe Technician I John Pearson Captain Thomas Rish Technician I Shannon Phillips Donovan Stewart (DCVFD) Lieutenant Mitchell Nason Technician I Adam Mowry Technician I Chase Walton Lindsey Jennings (DCVFD) Technician II Cody Burgener Technician I Benjamin Werkema Technician II Lee Bergstreser Technician II John Sawicki

LIFESAVING

Technician I Andy Gomez
Technician II Timothy Heard
Technician I Adrienne Kelly
Lieutenant Adam Renner
Technician II Dustin Goding
Technician II James Spengler
Technician I Richard Wahl
Battalion Chief Brian Ferguson
Lieutenant Andrew Gorman
Technician II Eric DiBucci

Technician II Nick Gonnella Technician II Rahil Nawaz Technician II Carl Nunziata Technician I Lukas Lofgren Technician I Garrett Gloska Technician I Joseph Tate Technician II Katherine Adzemovic

Lieutenant Kristen Samuels Technician I Tianna Brown Lieutenant Daniel Beck Technician II Ryan Conway Technician II Thomas Hunt Technician II Jeffrey McCoy Technician I Garrett Gloska Technician I Brian Zimmerman Captain Jeremy Moore Lieutenant Rebecca Wilson (Manassas City) Technician II Aaron Dillon Technician II Aaron Kearns Technician II James Spengler Technician I Alex Armstrong Technician I Hunter Mutkus Technician I Brian Zimmerman Technician II Lance Cornell

Lieutenant Ryan Tolley
Technician I Nathan Forbes
Lieutenant Matthew Eckert
Technician II Aaron Dillon
Technician II Thomas "Whitt" Jacobs
Technician II Davi Ramos-Allen
Technician I Cody Jewell
Waggy's Towing Recognition
Captain Kevin Richards
Technician II Anthony Aquinto

Technician II Matt Gomez Technician II Julie Schwartz Technician I David Kenny Technician I Kelvin Carias Technician I Issac Musser Lieutenant Charles Faustine April 4, 2025 First Responders Honored During Medal Day Ceremony Page 3

MERITORIOUS SERVICE

Lieutenant Austin Wing Adam Workman – SCBA Shop Technician I Joseph Clancy Lieutenant Joshua Thomson Technician II Davin Hoffman Technician II Brandon Simon Technician I Jeremy Bane Technician II Jonathan Carter
Captain Kevin Dodson
Captain Harry Wood
Technician II Ewan Baird
Technician II Keith Kraus
Technician II Kelly VanWingerden
Technician I Steven Thorne

Technician II Marcio Midence Technician II Lance Cornell Lieutenant Ross Shannon Technician II Kevin Dewhurst Technician II William Norman Technician I Connor Armstrong

BRONZE MEDAL

Technician II Thomas Sedell - with crew for Meritorious

GOLD MEDAL

Battalion Chief Jonathan Moore Lieutenant Ross Shannon Technician II Michael Shannon Lieutenant Daniel Beck Technician II James McCue

Lieutenant Michael Mishler Technician II Julie Schwartz

OFFICER OF THE YEAR

Battalion Chief Jonathan Moore

Lieutenant Michael Mishler

TECHNICIAN OF THE YEAR

Technician II James Snitwongse

CHIEF'S COMMENDATION

Captain Meagan Donelan
Division Chief Christopher Granger
Captain Kevin Dodson
Lieutenant Andrew Sanders
Liam Booth
Donald Flory
Maddie May
Michelle Schlefstein
Nathan Yates

Technician II Todd Laws
Battalion Chief Robert Moreau
Lieutenant Justin Green
Lieutenant Rachel Gorham
Curtis Brown
Kristian Harper
Sofia Muneer
Teresa Simpson

Technician II Christopher Saxon
Captain Thomas Arnoto
Lieutenant Sam Rodriguez
Vernon Anderson
Tyler Elder
Bonnie King
Samuel Perez
Wang Vo

-end-