BUSINESS LICENSE APPLICATION

2019

Phone: 703-792-6710 Email: TaxpayerServices@pwcgov.org

RENEWAL APPLICATION AND PAYMENT IN FULL IS DUE ON OR BEFORE MARCH 1, 2019
NEW BUSINESSES BEGINNING ON OR AFTER JANUARY 1, 2019 HAVE 30 DAYS TO MAKE APPLICATION AND REMIT PAYMENT

| | s Trade Nameensemble applicants must provide proof of trade/fictitious name registration (if different from | | |
|--|---|---|---------------------------------------|
| Owner Na | me) from the Prince William County Clerk of the Circuit Court | | actor/home improvement business, |
| Owner I | Name | you must provide the license num | ber and a copy of a valid Virginia |
| Federal | ID / SSN | Class A, B, or C Contractors Licer | nse issued in your business name |
| | Proprietor – Business Owner is Legally Present in the United States | by the Board for Contractors. | |
| The applicant, in submitting this business license application for themselves or on behalf of a sole proprietor as business owner, hereby certifies that the sole proprietor is lawfully authorized to be present and to work in the United States pursuant to all applicable federal laws and regulations for | | Virginia Contractors License No Class 'A' ☐ Class 'B' ☐ Class 'C' | |
| | ration of the license period covered by this application. nership – All Partners are Legally Present in the United States | All Contractors must also complet | |
| The applicant, in submitting this business license application on behalf of a partnership as business owner, hereby certifies that each and every partner is lawfully authorized to be present and to work in the United States pursuant to all applicable federal laws and regulations for the full duration of the license period covered by this application. For General or Limited Partnerships, you must provide proof that your business entity is registered with the Virginia State Corporation Commission. | | Workers' Compensation Insurance. Code of Virginia 58.1-3714 prohibits a county from issuing or reissuing a business license to a contractor who has not obtained or is not maintaining workers' compensation coverage for his employees if such coverage is required. | |
| ☐ Corp | oration LLC or PLLC | Complete the following only if app | licant is a Virginia-based Contractor |
| Provide business entity registration with Virginia State Corporation Commission. Tax Contact Name | | with a principal office located in a jurisdiction other than Prince William County: | |
| | Address | Name of Virginia jurisdiction where principal office is located | |
| | | | ess license tax? |
| Phone N | Number | | |
| Date Bu | siness Began in Prince William County | OFFI | CE USE |
| Busines | s Location | OTT | 00 000 |
| | | Acct. No. | |
| All new lic | ense applicants must provide either a copy of your Certificate of Occupancy, Home in Certificate, or Home Employment Certificate | Code | |
| Descrip | tion of Business | Date Filed | |
| | | | |
| | CALCULATE LICENS | | |
| 1. | Enter tax rate for business classification from reverse side Table C, Part | | |
| 2. | Enter total 2018 business gross receipts, or if a new business (business 2019), an estimate of your 2019 gross receipts. Wholesale merchants re than gross receipts | port total gross purchases rather | |
| 3. | Enter allowable adjustments from reverse side Table A, Line 4 | | |
| 4. | Subtract Line 3 from Line 2. This is your taxable gross receipts | | |
| 5. | Enter \$0 if the amount on Line 4 above is less than \$500,000 - otherwise - | | |
| , | Divide Line 4 by \$100, and then multiply by the tax rate entered on Line | | |
| 6. | If business began after 1/1/2018 but before 1/1/2019, complete reverse side Table B. Then enter the adjustment amount to the 2018 license tax for new businesses from reverse side Table B, Line 5 | | |
| 7. | 7. Enter flat rate license tax from reverse side Table C, Part B. NOTE: Restaurants serving mixed drinks must include the appropriate Flat Rate License Tax in addition to the license tax due calculated above | | |
| 8. | Add the amounts on Line 5, Line 6 and Line 7 above. This is your 2019 I | icense tax due | Tax |
| | Make check payable to: PRINCE WILLIAM COUNTY, PO BOX 2467, W Add a 10% late payment penalty and daily interest calculated at a rate of 10% per annum in existing businesses or MORE THAN 30 DAYS PAST THE START DATE for new business | if paying after MARCH 1, 2019 for | Penalty Interest TOTAL |
| | | | |

It is a misdemeanor for any person to willfully subscribe an application that he does not believe to be true and correct as to every material matter. Businesses are subject to audit by Prince William County pursuant to Virginia Code 58.1-3109. I declare that the statements and figures herein given are true, full and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

| | TABLE B – ADJUSTMENT TO 2018 LICENSE TAX | |
|----|---|--|
| | Complete Only If Business Began After 1/1/2018 But Before 1/1/2019 | |
| 1. | Enter tax rate for business classification from Table C, Part A | |
| 2. | Enter your 2018 taxable gross receipts amount from reverse side Line 4 | |
| 3. | Enter \$0 if the amount on Line 2 above is less than \$500,000. - otherwise - Divide Line 2 by \$100, and then multiply by the tax rate entered on Line 1 | |
| 4. | Enter the license tax paid when your 2018 Business License was issued | |
| 5. | Subtract Line 4 from Line 3. If the result is less than \$0, enter the negative amount. This is the adjustment amount to the 2018 license tax. Enter here and on reverse side, Line 6 | |

| TABLE C – TAX RATE SCHEDULE | |
|---|-----------------------|
| PART A: TAX RATE SCHEDULE FOR LICENSE TAX BASED ON TAXABLE GROSS RECEIPTS | |
| | Tax Rate per \$100 |
| Business Classification | Taxable Gross Receipt |
| Professional occupations (PR) | \$ 0.33 |
| Retail merchants (RT) | \$ 0.17 |
| Wholesale merchants (WS) | \$ 0.05 |
| Prince William County-based contractors, builders & developers or out-of-state contractors, builders | |
| or developers (CO) | \$ 0.13 |
| Contractors located in another Virginia jurisdiction which imposes a BPOL or similar tax (RC) | \$ 0.13 |
| Financial service providers; including credit agencies, and investment, securities, or commodities dealers (FI) | \$ 0.33 |
| Real estate service providers; including appraiser, broker, management or rental agent (RE) | \$ 0.33 |
| Hotel, motel or lodging establishments (HO) | \$ 0.26 |
| Direct sellers (DS) | \$ 0.17 |
| Public Utility (PU) | \$ 0.29 |
| Repair, personal or business services; or other services not elsewhere classified (OS) | \$ 0.21 |
| PART B: TAX RATE SCHEDULE FOR FLAT RATE LICENSES | |
| Business Classification | Flat Rate Amount |
| Restaurants serving mixed drinks with a seating capacity of no more than 100 persons (A1) | \$ 200.00 |
| Restaurants serving mixed drinks with a seating capacity of at least 101 but no more than 150 persons (A2) | \$ 350.00 |
| Restaurants serving mixed drinks with a seating capacity of 151 persons or greater (A3) | \$ 500.00 |
| Non-profit or private clubs serving mixed drinks (A4) | \$ 500.00 |
| Peddlers and other persons selling perishable goods place to place or at a temporary location (PE) | \$ 500.00 |
| Itinerant merchant or itinerant event sponsor (IT) | \$ 500.00 |