Phone: 703-792-6710 Email: TaxpayerServices@pwcgov.org

#### REQUIREMENTS TO BE ISSUED A BUSINESS LICENSE

#### APPLICATION AND PAYMENT

New businesses must apply and remit payment in full within 30 days of the business start date. After 30 days, include late filing penalty of 10% and daily interest calculated at a rate of 10% per annum.

For businesses renewing their license, application and payment in full is due on or before March 1, 2020. After March 1, 2020, include late filing penalty of 10% and daily interest calculated at a rate of 10% per annum.

#### **BUSINESS ENTITY AND BUSINESS OWNER**

## Corporation or LLC

Provide copy of business entity documents of record filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission.

#### **Partnerships**

- Provide copy of business entity documents of record filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission
- The applicant must certify that each named partner is lawfully authorized to be present and to work in the United States by checking the indicated block on the application and signing the application.

# Sole Proprietor

The applicant must certify that he/she is lawfully authorized to be present and to work in the United States by checking the indicated block on the application and signing the application.

#### TRADE NAME REGISTRATION

Copy of trade name or fictitious name filing from the Virginia State Corporation Commission if you intend to conduct business under a name other than the owners' legal name.

## **ZONING AND OCCUPANCY APPROVAL**

Commercial or other Non-Residential Location in Prince William County

Copy of final zoning and occupancy approval. Under the County's Joint Occupancy Evaluation Program, an existing
occupancy certificate for a tenant space may be acceptable when the prior and future uses are the same. For information,
contact the Department of Development Services at 703-792-6930.

## Residential Location in Prince William County

Copy of Home Occupation Certificate or Home Employment Certificate

#### PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION

Copy of state licensure for occupations regulated by the state for health and safety reasons or to enforce professional conduct.

## OTHER REQUIREMENTS FOR CONTRACTORS

Copy of Virginia contractors' license (Class A, B or C) for contractors who bid on or accept jobs of more than \$1,000. If your contracting business activity is not subject to licensure or certification by the Commonwealth of Virginia, State law requires that you submit a written statement, supported by an affidavit, describing why you are not subject to licensure or certification as a contractor or subcontractor.

Copy of Prince William Home Improvement Contractor License for contractors' or persons engaging in the home improvement business but who are not required to be licensed by the state as a contractor.

Contractor's Certification of Workers' Compensation Insurance.

Contractors located in another Virginia jurisdiction but undertaking construction jobs in Prince William County of 30 days or less for any one job must provide a copy of the business license, if one is issued, from the jurisdiction in which the business is physically located.

## **BUSINESS START DATE**

Enter the date you began business at the Prince William County location listed on the application. For Contractors with no office location in Prince William County, enter the date you began doing work in Prince William County.

#### MISSING RETURNS AND/OR LICENSES

If applicable, you must file and pay on all previously required business personal property and business license taxes.

## **DELINQUENT TAXES**

A license will not be issued if you have delinquent property or license taxes.

## ADDRESS VALIDATION

Address validation by the GIS Office is required for all businesses operating in a commercial structure in Prince William County. Business owners should contact the GIS Office at 703-792-6840 for information on how to complete this process.

## BUSINESS REGISTRATION AND MORE INFORMATION ON STARTING A BUSINESS

If you have business activity in the Commonwealth of Virginia, you need to register your business with the Virginia Department of Taxation. Registration can be completed online at https://tax.virginia.gov (select "Business Resources")

Before registering with the Virginia Department of Taxation, most new businesses need a Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) from the IRS. Getting an FEIN can be done online through the IRS website at https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/employer-id-numbers

A quick one-stop source for information related to business in Virginia is available online at www.bos.virginia.gov