Fines & Costs

Prepayment Online
You may make prepayments for fines and other minor offenses through the Courts Automated Information System.

Prepayment in Person
Prepayments can be made in person before the Court date at the General District Court, located at 9311 Lee Avenue. The Court will accept cash, check, money order or credit card payments, (VISA, MASTERCARD or DISCOVER).

Please Note: All District Courts will assess a 4% credit card convenience fee for credit card payments. This fee is applicable to all credit card payments accepted in person and via Internet.


Prepayment by Mail
Prepayments must be received five (5) days prior to the hearing date when sent by mail with the yellow copy of the summons. The Court will not be responsible if any delays occur due to mail service. Make check or money order payable to General District Court, and mail your prepayments to:


General District Court
9311 Lee Ave., Suite JU145
Manassas, VA 20110
Attn: Prepayment


Notice: In order to improve our ability to help more individuals contacting the Court by phone with questions or concerns regarding their case; effective January 1, 2020 the Prince William General District Court will no longer be accepting payments over the phone. If you wish to make a payment, you have the option to visit the court website, mail your payment to 9311 Lee Avenue, Suite 230, Manassas, Va. 20110, or pay in person in the traffic/criminal clerks's office. Please be advised that hand written summons from an Officer must be manually typed in the system; please allow time for your case to be entered before attempting to make payment.
Also, due to increased telephone scams, the Supreme Court of Virginia put out a public advisory notifying individuals of the following: Credit card payments should only be made in a court clerk's office or through secure online applications, such as the Virginia Judiciary Online Payment System or General District Online Case Information System, which are available on Virginia's Judicial System website.


Failure to Pay
Fines If delays occur, or if you do not appear on the Court date or pay the fines and costs prior to the Court date, the Court will proceed to try the case in your absence and, upon conviction, the judge may impose a fine that is different from the amounts shown on this page. Also, pursuant to Virginia Code Section 16.1-69.48:1, an additional penalty of $35.00 will be assessed.

Policy for Fines and Costs

The following violations are not prepayable offenses:

  • Driving under the influence of alcohol
  • Reckless driving
  • No operator’s license
  • DWI & DUI

If payment is for more than one violation arising out of the same incident, add only $15.00 for each additional violation.

NOTE: This fee is not collected for seat belt violations or child restraint/safety belt violation.

SPECIAL NOTE: If the HIGHWAY SAFETY CORRIDOR box is checked on your summons, the fine is DOUBLED. COURT COSTS HAVE CHANGED

Lawyer Referral Service
Prince William County Bar Association Lawyer Referral Service
703-393-2306, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Monday - Friday.
$35.00 fee for 30 minute consultation with a Lawyer.

If copies are requested: You will be charged $1.00 for the first page, $1.00 for second page and $.50 for each additional page.