Close close-icon

Parenting At-Risk Youth


Juvenile Justice Parenting Program: Parenting of Teens

  • Juvenile Justice Parenting Program - Spanish: Thursdays, January13 - March 3, 2022, 7:00pm - 9:00pm (8 weeks)  LOCATION: Virtual (ZOOM)
  • Juvenile Justice Parenting Program: Tuesdays, January 25 - March 15, 2022, 7:00pm - 9:00pm (8 weeks) LOCATION: To Be Announced
  • Juvenile Justice Parenting Program: Wednesdays, March 23 - May, 18, 2022, 7:00pm - 9:00pm (8 weeks) LOCATION: To Be Announced
  • Juvenile Justice Parenting Program - Spanish: Wednesdays, April 20 - June 8, 2022, 7:00pm - 9:00pm (8 weeks)  LOCATION: To Be Announced

These classes are for parents of teens and at-risk youth. Families may attend because their child has come to the attention of the court, is truant from school or is involved in activities that put him/her at risk of court involvement. Both parents and the youth may participate in the program.

While parents are exploring and strengthening their parenting skills, the youth address issues such as peer pressure, choice-making and anger management. Frequently both groups discuss specific risky behaviors such as drug use and sexual activity.

Classes are held in two-hour sessions one night a week for eight weeks. They are offered throughout the county at various locations when in-person classes are available. The program fee is $40 for all families. The groups are led by instructors who have master's degrees and extensive experience working with at-risk youth and their families. Print a Parent Education Registration Form 

To Register

  • Print out the Parenting Registration Form
  • Click here to print a Parent Education Registration Form
  • On box 2., JJPP, Juvenile Justice Parenting Program, include the Date of Session, the Class Location and check the appropriate box and include an adolescent's information. ​
  • $40.00 payment per individual or per couple living in the same household (couple shares class materials)
  • Make $40.00 check or money order payable to:  VCE Prince William 
  • Mail completed registration form (must have class date and location) and $40.00 non-refundable check or money order (Sorry, we do not accept credit cards) payment to: VCE Prince William, 8033 Ashton Avenue, Suite 105, Manassas, VA 20109, ATTN:  Parent Education

All fees must accompany the registration form.   You may sign up for more than one class (for example:  JJPP & WFGA) on the Parenting Registration Form.  For more information, leave a message at 703-792-6288 and your call will be returned.

Registration is required prior to the class.

If you have any questions, please call 703-792-6288 or send an e-mail.

Virginia Cooperative Extension
Parent Education Program
8033 Ashton Ave. Suite 105
Manassas, VA 20109
[email protected]

If you are a person with a disability and desire any assistive devices, services or other accommodations to participate in this activity, please contact VCE Parent Education Admin. at (703) 792-6288/TDD*) during business hours of 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. to discuss accommodations 5 days prior to the event.
*TDD number is (800) 828-1120.

Virginia Cooperative Extension logo and indicia statement

Virginia Cooperative Extension programs and employment are open to all, regardless of age, color, disability, gender, gender identity, gender expression, national origin, political affiliation, race, religion, sexual orientation, genetic information, veteran status, or any other basis protected by law. An equal opportunity/affirmative action employer. Issued in furtherance of Cooperative Extension work, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Virginia State University, and the U.S. Department of Agriculture cooperating. Edwin J. Jones, Director, Virginia Cooperative Extension, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg; M. Ray McKinnie, Administrator, 1890 Extension Program, Virginia State University, Petersburg